Deceptions by Kelley Armstrong

23006161Title: Deceptions (book #3 in the Cainsville series)

Author: Kelley Armstrong

Themes: Fantasy, Thriller, Mystery, Romance

Rating: 3/5

 

‘Deceptions’ is the third book in Kelley Armstrong’s Cainsville series. I think I read somewhere there will be five books in total, and with two more to go, there are still a ways to go before I’ll be satisfied that all my questions are answered. But don’t fear, a LOT is answered in this installment, and the pieces of the puzzle are finally falling into place.

Olivia Jones has come a long way from the first book, ‘Omens‘ and the second, ‘Visions‘. She learnt that she was adopted, and her biological parents are in fact serving life sentences for murdering a number of people in a horrific way. Not only that, she has fae blood in her, from one of her decedents, and she must work with her lawyer and friend, Gabriel, to find answers from the fae folk that live in the unusual town of Cainsville.

In this third book, Olivia (Eden) discovers more about her involvement with the fae, and why they are so interested in her, Ricky (her new boyfriend) and Gabriel. Her journey takes her further along the path of seeing visions, and back to places she’d rather not revisit. Along the way, she struggles with her feelings for Ricky and Gabriel, and must understand whether her fate is already set, or if she is can shape her own path.

As I’ve mentioned before, I am a big Kelley Armstrong fan, and I’ve reviewed many of her books on my blog. I wish this series grabbed me half as much as the Woman of the Otherworld’ did, but unfortunately I feel the story does lack in places. Olivia is a well-rounded character, if a little too boring for me. Sure, she is feisty and emotional, but it’s just not enough. Her relationship with Ricky is also a little bit… typical. She sees cute guy, she likes him and they get together, but from page one of ‘Omens’ it’s obvious Gabriel and her are meant to be, and she starts to realise this in ‘Deceptions’ but the love triangle has already been dragged out for 3 books, do we really need another 2 for her to realise Gabriel is the one for her?

Aside from that, I am a big fan of Gabriel, a workaholic lawyer trying to help Olivia whilst being professional at the same time. The story is good, but confusing at times. Although we do learn much more in this third book than from the first two combined.

Don’t let this review put you off the series, it is great, just not exactly what I’d expect from my favourite author. I hope the next instalment will bring more to the story, and move away from the love-triangle plot that’s been looming from page one.

If you’ve read this series, please do leave a comment and let me know what you think!

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Deceptions by Kelley Armstrong

Leave a Reply

