Top 3 Affordable Beauty Favourites

I was thinking recently about how I often try out new brands and products, whether it be make-up, haircare or general skincare, and see no results. I’m quite good at doing my research before making a purchase, and even then only would really impulse buy something if it was on sale, but I do often listen to the recommendations of others and find myself let down.

But there are three products I have used for years, and I can only say good things about them. So, today I thought I’d share them with you! Of course, everyone is different and something that works for me may not work for you, but with so many products available in stores and online today, it’s good to know what’s out there.

 

One.  MaxFactor Colour Correcting Cream, RRP.£6.99 approx.

max-factor-01-1This is one product I use instead of a heavy foundation. I don’t have a lot of time in the morning so I need something I can quickly rub on and get some good coverage. This is perfect because it is light, doesn’t leave any streaks, and does a great job of hiding any red spots (perfect if you have problem skin like mine.) The formula also has SPF 15, which should be included somewhere in your skincare routine to avoid ageing via skin damage.

The main plus point for me with this products, and the reason I have used it for many years now, is the colour. I am extremely pale, and often have spots or red marks on my face. I use this CC Cream in Fair (the lightest available colour) and it is the perfect colour for my skin tone. I’ve never managed to find a closer match, and the fact that it goes on so easily with a great result makes it a must-have for me. If I’m going out in the evening, so need more coverage, I just add a heavier foundation on top, and keep the CC Cream as a base layer.

Unfortunately, MaxFactor now sell their CC Creams in 4 colour sticks, and not in this liquid form, so I’ve had to buy it online. I really hope this returns to the shops in the future so I can stock up!

 

Two. Nivea Hydro Care Lip Balm, RRP.£1-2.50 approx.

4005808850884_Nivea_Lip_Care_Hydro_Care

My sister recommended this particular lip balm to me years ago, and it is the only one I’ve used since. I can’t recommend this product enough!

It has no smell to it, and it’s lovely and light. It almost feels as though you aren’t wearing anything at all, but it still does an excellent job of moisturising! There is no sticky layer or horrible aftertaste I usually find with other lip balms.

I always buy one when it’s on offer, and I keep one in my handbag and one next to my bed. I use it daily after brushing my teeth, morning and night, because this is when my lips feel the driest. It’s also a great base coat/primer for wearing underneath lipstick.

This is currently on sale in Tesco, Asda and Superdrug for £1, but I’ve never seen it sold for more than £2.50.

 

Three. Clinique Dramatically Different Moisturising Gel, RRP.£35 approx. 80145ce4-e0cd-49b0-a096-056242375740_41Qv6lzC32L.jpg.ashx

This final recommendation is more expensive, but I’ve found that it lasts for a long time, and is great for my skin. There are two options for this moisturiser, the gel or the lotion. The lotion is for drier skin, and the gel for oily/combination skin. My skin is usually on the oily side so the gel works perfectly for me.

I used this for the first time years ago, in a set I received for my birthday, (from my sister if you hadn’t guessed) and I really liked it. It is so lightweight and again leaves no thick layer you’d find with other moisturisers. This means that make-up can be easily applied on top, and it didn’t leave my skin too dry or oily at all. If you don’t want to purchase the whole bottle, I’d recommend trying it out with the small bottle in the set, which comes with a cleanser/toner and a face wash. All of them work really well together and really improved my skin. The sets are usually around £29.99, and you can talk to the sales representative about which skin type you have. I’m number 3, but for drier skin you’ll want one or two.

 

So, there we have it. My 3 products I’ve repurchased, and loved. If you have any questions, recommendations or have tried any of the above, do let me know! 🙂

 

5 thoughts on “Top 3 Affordable Beauty Favourites

Leave a Reply

