Dark Heroine: Dinner With A Vampire By Abigail Gibbs

15998621Title: Dinner With a Vampire (Dark Heroine #1)

Author: Abigail Gibbs

Publisher: Harper Voyager

Rating: 2/5

I purchased this book some time ago, but wasn’t sure if it was something that I’d outgrown. YA novels generally don’t seem to hold my interest as much as they once did, but having said that, there are some magnificent reads that are aimed at the YA audience, so I still try and read as many as I can subject myself to. This was one that I’d heard lots about, and finally got around to reading last week.

The journey behind Abigail Gibbs making it as a published author is a brilliant story of it’s own. When she was 15, Abigail began writing a serialised story on the website Wattsapp, something I also did when I was the same age. Abigail’s story captured the attention of the community, and she became extremely popular, raking in millions of reads on her story, ‘Dinner With A Vampire’. It is this story that was then edited, polished off and published by Harper Voyager in 2012.

‘Dinner With A Vampire’ tells the story of seventeen-year-old Violet Lee, who finds herself in a dangerous situation on a night out. She is separated from her friends and finds herself in the centre of London witnessing a mass-murder. The murderers are fast, strong and appear a little out of the ordinary. They kidnap Violet, and she is drawn into a new world she could never have guessed existed. She is held by royalty, particularly Prince Kaspar who she is drawn to. But she cannot forget the danger that lurks just below the surface of this new world.

Sadly, there were a number of things that spoilt this book for me. Firstly, Violet really doesn’t seem to mind being kidnapped and held hostage with these strangers. She doesn’t try to escape, or contact her family or even fight against them. She is content to be their friend, and even have a romance with her kidnappers. Secondly, there were many simple spelling and grammar mistakes throughout. This isn’t really the authors fault, surely the publishers or someone would have read through and triple checked the final manuscript before publishing, but there are just so many obvious errors it was hard to ignore them, and for me it gave the book an overall feeling of being rushed. Also, the plot wasn’t great. This could be said of many popular books, but usually the writing can make up for this, but as I’ve said, that wasn’t brilliant either. There are a few things Violet does that have no point, and just seem to be a waste of writing time.

It’s not often I write a bad review, but there isn’t much good I can find about this book. Of course, I am twenty-two now, and maybe if I’d read it when I was a little younger, I would have enjoyed it more. I can see younger teenagers enjoying this read, for the sex scene if nothing else, but other than that it just isn’t a great read. The second book in the series, ‘Autumn Rose’  has the potential to be better, as it focuses on a completely different character, but I don’t think I’ll be reading it any time soon.

Leave a Reply

